Lately I’ve been reading a lot of minimalist websites and blogs (particularly Becoming Minimalist, Minimalist Moms and mnmlist). I’ve finding myself more and more drawn to the ethos of minimalism – at the moment I feel like I’m drowning in ‘stuff’ and clutter. I’m looking forward to a fresh start when we move to Australia and I want to make sure we don’t end up in the same situation again.

But where to start?

My attention was caught by Project 333 running on Be More With Less . The project is to choose just 33 items of clothing to wear for 3 months (1 October to 31 December).

This sounded like something acheivable, and would end the daily frustration of searching through a drawer full of clothes for something suitable to wear. So I’ve decided to join in. Yes, I’m  a month behind but that doesn’t matter. I’ll just start on 1 November and end on 31 January instead. With a bit of luck that period will include out move when I’ll have to live out of a suitcase for a while anyway so this should make it easy.

So today I sorted through all my clothes, picked my 33 items and threw everything else into packing boxes to be sealed up for the time being. The rules of the challenge state that the 33 items doesn’t include wedding ring, underwear, sleepwear, in-home lounge wear or workout wear.

I don’t really do jewellery but I do wear an extra ring on my right hand. Thai is as permanent as my wedding ring (it was the first ring my husband ever bought me) so I’m keeping it on. I don’t workout but I do take the boys swimming so I have a few pieces of swimming gear. And I have a pair of yoga pants and a big comfy cardigan as ‘lounge wear’. The cardie is one I would often wear out as well but I promise not to do so for the duration of the challenge.

My only other addition to the 33 items is one pair of shorts, one pair of cropped trousers and one pair of sandals – these are for if we do make it to Australia within the three months. I think it’s a bit much to ask a wardrobe of just 33 items to cope with both a London winter and an Australian summer!

I’m excited to get started and see how this goes. It was very satisfying emptying out my drawers and wardrobes and seeing those boxes fill up. The final items may change slightly over the next couple of days so I’ll post a list next week.

My first step on the road to minimalism…..or some approximation of it.