Cover of "Playful Parenting"

Cover of Playful Parenting

Today was my first day back at work after seven months of maternity. I’ll discuss my feelings about this in another post but one advantage of working is that I get time on the train each day to read. So I’ve started reading Playful Parenting by Laurence J Cohen hoping it might give me some inspiration to deal with some of the problems I’ve been having with my 3 year old.

I’ve read chapter 1 which is pretty much an introduction into why being playful is important. My first reaction is “great, but how do I do that?”

Specifically:

  • how do I juggle the never-ending housework with playtime?
  • how do I play with my 3 year old when the baby needs feeding/changing/holding?
  • the examples so far are all very well but coming up with the ideas in the middle of a stressful situation is not going to be easy

Am hoping the rest of the book has some practical advice. Right now I’m thinking that my problem is going to be relaxing my inhibitions to really play with my children. I have the same problem with my musical theatre group – I can sing and dance well enough but my acting is terrible because I’m too self-concious. Maybe becoming a more Playful Parent will also help me become a better actress!

