Today was DS1’s third birthday party (his actual birthday is a few days away yet). I was determined this year to keep things simple, stress-free and above all – cheap. But somehow it didn’t quite turn out that way.

I haven’t kept a tally of how much we spent but I think it would have been over £100 – and that’s even before his birthday presents. Although I tried to plan and prep as much in advance as possible we were still getting stressed and harassed this morning. And I was so busy during the party I didn’t take a single photo, or have a proper conversation with anyone. (Father-in-law was taking lots of photos so will have to get copies from him). Thank goodness for slings – DS2 spent the majority of the party sound asleep on my back – don’t know how I would have coped if he had needed my attention too!

Don’t get me wrong – it went very well, much fun was had by all, and I’m proud of how it turned out. But I can’t help thinking there must be a better way. Will it get easier as they get older? Or just more complicated?

I’m so glad my boys’ birthdays are six months apart – don’t think I could do this again any time soon!

