In my continuing quest to find motivation to do more fun activities with my eldest son, I decided to designate Tuesday mornings to Arts & Crafts – choose a different activity each week and invite other mums and children around to join in. Today was the first of those days and we had a few friends around to try out Hot Rock Painting as seen on the A Magical Childhood blog.

We heated the stones up in the oven at 200 degrees C for about half an hour then carefully got them out and placed them on folded teatowels (I’d put a thick picnic blanket down on the table too). The effect when the crayons touched them was amazing! The coloured wax melted and made beautiful patterns. We found we had more success once they had cooled a little so we could actually paint lines rather than just ending up with big pools of colour – but those ones looked good too. I think the adults enjoyed it more than the kids but nevermind. Will definitely do it again sometime.

Now I just need to come up with an idea for next week…..

